the Black Keys: Brothers


I recently read that the Black Keys are to release a new album called Brothers May 18th. Since I’m a bad person, I couldn’t resist downloading it.

After listening to the first half, I could only think of one word. It’s not even a word. Wow. But, WOW. Danger Mouse did a TERRIFIC job producing  the sixth album for the blues duo from Akron. Leaving the Cream influences aside, trading killer riffs for a keyboard and tambourine, the result is an endless modernized gypsy epic. The first single Tighten Up sounds like a Peter, Bjorn and John rip-off, though I’d say it’s even better. Folk at times, it delivers great songs from beginning to end. The catchy blues groove of She’s Long Gone reminds me of previous albums like Thick Freakness, but overall the record is a mature, interesting and pleasant work.

Singer-guitarist Auerbach released his first solo album last year, Keep it Hid. There seems to be a significant change in his sound since then, which fades on his work with the Keys.

Rating: 8.0

I recommend it if you liked: Beck – Modern Guilt, the Black Keys – Attack & Release

This entry was posted in Album Reviews, Reviews and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment