Band Review: Om


Aum, or Om, is a sacred syllable originating from Hinduism.

You gotta be either Hindu or Ph.D to really understand the meaning of Om. Cause honestly, it’s effin’ superfluous.

Just like Om’s music. The Californian duo was formed in 2003 by the rhythm section of the disbanded stoner/doom/pot-rock, as call it. Curiously enough, their music sounds like Tibetan chanting. And it’s incredibly powerful, yet interesting, musically speaking. I’m not gonna lie, I don’t get the lyrics, not at all. They’re mostly singing about celestial, monks from Lebanon praying the Godhead, and Lazarus. Someone help me?

I got into Om last year while youtubing. Some guy was praising them on a Sleep video, so I checked them out. I must say I was amazed to hear such a powerful sound, with only a bass and a drum. The ambiance they create, this mysterious and insecure world they take you to is fascinating.

I suggest you folks listen to Pilgrimage, their third studio album.  It was produced by Steve Albini (In Utero, Surfer Rosa).

Also, their latest album, God Is Good, released in 2009.

Chris Hakius and Al Cisneros

This entry was posted in Band Reviews, Reviews and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment